Funds to support local health, public safety, community and economic development and education initiatives 

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam and Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bob Rolfe announced today the 60 counties that will receive ThreeStar Grants.

The grants will be used for a variety of local programs addressing economic development, education and workforce development, public safety, health and efficient government.

“Providing more opportunities for Tennesseans is one of our state’s main objectives, and with the assistance of the ThreeStar Competitive Grants, the 60 recipients will be better prepared for success,” Haslam said. “The ThreeStar program is a great asset to help communities across Tennessee thrive, and I look forward to seeing each of these 60 communities continue to succeed.”

“I want to congratulate the 60 communities chosen in this round to receive the ThreeStar Grants,” Rolfe said. “The projects that these counties complete with ThreeStar grant assistance will enhance local communities by creating a better living and working environment for residents.”

ThreeStar focuses on best practices in five key community areas, including jobs and economic development, education and workforce development, fiscal strength and efficient government, public safety and health. To be eligible for this grant, the county must meet requirements in these five areas and show how the project will move the county forward in at least one of those areas.

“TNECD is able to assist the 60 recipients of the ThreeStar Grants by investing in locally-driven projects that transform communities,” Amy New, assistant commissioner of Community and Rural Development, said. “We are proud to partner with these communities as they continue to work collaboratively to enhance their economic landscape.”

In total, TNECD is awarding $955,000 to Tennessee communities through this round of the ThreeStar Grant program. TNECD is committed to helping communities in the areas that they prioritize on a local level. The projects are new programs or expand upon existing programs. All are based on the communities’ ThreeStar planning process.

The grants have been awarded to the following counties:

Anderson $5,000
Benton $25,000
Campbell $25,000
Cannon $5,000
Carroll $25,000
Chester $15,000
Claiborne $10,000
Clay $25,000
Cocke $25,000
Crockett $5,000
Cumberland $15,000
Decatur $25,000
DeKalb $15,000
Fentress $15,000
Giles $5,000
Grainger $25,000
Grundy $25,000
Hamblen $5,000
Hamilton $5,000
Hardeman $25,000
Hardin $25,000
Hawkins $15,000
Haywood $25,000
Henderson $15,000
Henry $5,000
Hickman $15,000
Humphreys $5,000
Jackson $25,000
Johnson $25,000
Lake $15,000
Lauderdale $25,000
Lawrence $15,000
Lewis $25,000
Macon $5,000
Marion $5,000
Marshall $5,000
McMinn $15,000
Meigs $25,000
Monroe $15,000
Moore $5,000
Morgan $25,000
Obion $15,000
Perry $25,000
Pickett $15,000
Polk $15,000
Rhea $15,000
Roane $5,000
Scott $25,000
Sequatchie $5,000
Smith $5,000
Stewart $15,000
Tipton $5,000
Trousdale $5,000
Unicoi $25,000
Union $25,000
Van Buren $25,000
Warren $15,000
Wayne $25,000
Weakley $15,000.
White $15,000

Each application was supported by the community’s senator and representatives in the Tennessee General Assembly.

For more information on the ThreeStar program go to

About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development’s mission is to develop strategies that help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. To grow and strengthen Tennessee, the department seeks to attract new corporate investment to the state and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Find us on the web: Follow us on Twitter and Instagram: @tnecd. Like us on Facebook:


filter background