• Thirty-seven communities are now part of the downtown revitalization program
  • In 2018, nearly 1,200 jobs were created in Main Street communities

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bob Rolfe announced today that Humboldt and Elizabethton have achieved Tennessee Main Street accreditation.

Elizabethton and Humboldt join 35 other Tennessee Main Street communities that are accredited through the state program and Main Street America, a program of the national Trust for Historic Preservation.

“At the heart of every vibrant Tennessee city is a thriving downtown district,” Rolfe said. “The Tennessee Main Street program is an integral part of our rural and community development efforts, and we are eager to partner with Humboldt and Elizabethton as they develop sustainable revitalization efforts in their downtowns.”

The Main Street Program provides training, support and grant opportunities to assist in downtown revitalization efforts. Elizabethton and Humboldt selected areas of their downtown cores where the program will focus on historic preservation, community events and economic revitalization.

“Our 37 Tennessee Main Street communities all offer a unique quality of life, and TNECD is proud to welcome Humboldt and Elizabethton to the network,” Tennessee Main Street Program Director Nancy Williams said.

Humboldt, in West Tennessee, successfully participated in the 2016-18 round of the Tennessee Downtowns program, focusing on rebranding its downtown and celebrating its longstanding strawberry festival. Elizabethton, in upper East Tennessee, has a historically significant downtown that it plans to improve through the Main Street program, encouraging new investment and entrepreneurship.

In 2018, accredited Tennessee Main Street communities generated $145 million of public and private investment and nearly 1,200 new jobs.

The Tennessee Main Street Program requires communities to illustrate a commitment from local government and other local organizations, an adequate organizational budget, a strong historic preservation ethic, a collection of historic commercial buildings and a walkable district.

Accredited Tennessee Main Street communities are spread across the state and include Athens, Bolivar, Bristol, Brownsville, Cleveland, Collierville, Columbia, Cookeville, Dayton, Dyersburg, Fayetteville, Franklin, Gallatin, Greeneville, Jackson, Johnson City, Jonesborough, Kingsport, Lawrenceburg, Lebanon, Maryville, McKenzie, McMinnville, Morristown, Murfreesboro, Paris, Pulaski, Ripley, Rogersville, Savannah, Sevierville, Sweetwater, Tiptonville, Union City and Winchester.

Elizabethton’s Main Street application was supported by Sen. Rusty Crowe (R – Johnson City) and Rep. John Holsclaw, Jr. (R – Elizabethton) in the Tennessee General Assembly. Humboldt’s Main Street application was supported by Sen. John Stevens (R – Huntingdon) and Rep. Curtis Halford (R – Dyer).

TNECD Media Contact
Scott Harrison, Public Information Officer
(615) 417-2076
[email protected]

About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development’s mission is to develop strategies that help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. To grow and strengthen Tennessee, the department seeks to attract new corporate investment to the state and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Find us on the web: tnecd.com. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram: @tnecd. Like us on Facebook: facebook.com/tnecd.


filter background