Grants and investments to assist communities with local infrastructure and safety 

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam and Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bob Rolfe recently approved nearly $28 million in Community Development Block Grants (CDBG), which assist communities with infrastructure improvements, health and safety initiatives and façade improvements in downtown commercial districts.

“Congratulations to the 70 Community Development Block Grant recipients,” Haslam said. “It’s always great to see Tennessee communities taking the initiative to invest in themselves to create better environments for their residents to live and work. With the assistance of these grants, each community will be better equipped for success in our state and will continue to help Tennessee lead in economic development and job growth.”

“The Community Development Block Grants are a huge asset to communities across the state and Tennessee as a whole,” Rolfe said. “The 70 communities receiving CDBG funding will be better prepared for economic growth, which will in turn help Tennessee continue to succeed. I look forward to the future success each community will see in the years to come.”

The allocation of CDBG funds is based on priorities set through the public meeting process held each year with local representatives from across the state. The CDBG program is funded through HUD and administered in Tennessee by TNECD. Funds are available for water and sewer improvements and extensions, housing rehabilitation, health and safety projects as well as commercial façade improvements in Main Street and Tennessee Downtown communities. Commercial façade grants will be awarded this fall.

Below is a list of the Community Development Block Grants:

Community Project Amount
Adamsville Wastewater Treatment Plant Improvements $525,000
Alamo Water System Improvements $404,100
Bean Station Fire Protection Improvements $270,380
Benton Water System Improvements $525,000
Big Sandy Fire Protection Improvements $314,980
Blaine Fire Protection Improvements $255,150
Bradford Fire Protection Improvements $296,300
Cannon County Water System Improvements $525,000
Carter County Emergency Operations Center $315,000
Caryville Fire Protection Improvements $279,752
Claiborne County Water Line Extension $524,833
Clay County Ambulance Service Improvements $222,660
Cocke County Water Line Extension $525,000
Copperhill Water System Improvements $250,000
Covington Sewer System Improvements $451,935
Crossville Sewer System Improvements $525,000
Dayton Sewer System Improvements $525,000
Decatur Sewer System Improvements $514,710
Decatur County Fire Protection Improvements $315,000
Dunlap Water System Improvements $496,400
Elizabethton Water System Improvements $525,000
Fayette County Ambulance Service Improvements $299,500
Gadsden Early Warning Sirens $44,950
Gilt Edge Fire Protection Improvements $285,974
Grainger County Water Line Extension $525,000
Graysville Water System Improvements $261,856
Halls Housing Rehabilitation $428,500
Harrogate Sewer Line Extension $449,748
Haywood County Ambulance Service Improvements $315,000
Henderson County Fire Protection Improvements $285,378
Henning Water System Improvements $354,568
Henry County Emergency Communications System Improvements $315,000
Hohenwald Water System Improvements $525,000
Huntingdon Sewer System Improvements $336,000
Jackson County Water System Improvements $525,000
Jefferson City Sewer System Improvements $525,000
Jellico Water System Improvements $525,000
LaFollette Wastewater Treatment Plant Improvements $525,000
Lenoir City Sewer System Improvements $525,000
Madisonville Fire Protection Improvements $315,000
Marshall County Water Line Extension $525,000
Mason Water Line Extension $387,280
Maury County Wastewater Treatment Plant Improvements $525,000
McNairy County Sewer System Improvements $430,000
Monterey Sewer System Improvements $475,000
Mount Pleasant Sewer System Improvements $525,000
New Market Emergency Communications System Improvements $165,372
Parrottsville Fire Protection Improvements $282,931
Pickett County Emergency Services Improvements $110,500
Ridgely Wastewater Treatment Plant Improvements $477,450
Ripley Sewer System Improvements $495,000
Rogersville Wastewater Treatment Plant Improvements $357,600
Samburg Fire Protection Improvements $197,238
Savannah Sewer System Improvements $336,000
Sharon Fire Protection Improvements $194,470
Sneedville Sewer System Improvements $520,255
Sparta Sewer System Improvements $498,000
Springfield Sewer System Improvements $525,000
Sumner County Water Line Extension $200,000
Tazewell Housing Rehabilitation $525,000
Trenton Sewer System Improvements $525,000
Troy Wastewater Treatment Plant Improvements $227,500
Union County Ambulance Service Improvements $315,000
Van Buren County Fire Protection Improvements $ 296,310
Vanleer Water Line Extension $209,300
Viola Fire Protection Improvements $166,430
Wartrace Water System Improvements $390,600
Wayne County Early Warning Sirens $113,360
Whiteville Sewer System Improvements $415,569
Woodbury Water System Improvements $525,000

Each application was supported by the community’s senator and representative in the Tennessee General Assembly. 

About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development’s mission is to develop strategies that help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. To grow and strengthen Tennessee, the department seeks to attract new corporate investment to the state and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Find us on the web: Follow us on Twitter and Instagram: @tnecd. Like us on Facebook:


filter background