NASHVILLE — TNECD Chief Operating Officer Ted Townsend has been selected to serve as vice chair of The Council of State Governments’ Fiscal & Economic Development Public Policy Committee. Thirty-two state leaders from 20 states were appointed to positions on CSG’s public policy, standing and special committees, which help to determine CSG’s agenda throughout the year.  

“It is such an honor to have been selected as vice chair of CSG’s Fiscal & Economic Development Public Policy Committee,” Townsend said. “In this role, I will be able to work with other states to learn what the best practices are across the nation in terms of fiscal, tax and economic development policy conditions as well as network with other state officials. I appreciate CSG for appointing me to this committee and for this great opportunity to serve.”

The CSG national chair and the chair-elect— currently Nevada state Sen. Kelvin Atkinson and Kentucky Senate President Robert Stivers, respectively — make final decisions about the appointment of committee chairs and vice chairs. CSG staff members work closely with committee leaders over their one- or two-year terms to ensure the efforts of the organization are member-driven.

“These leaders guide our work,” said John Mountjoy, CSG director of policy and research. “They set the tone for the topics we’re looking at throughout the year. They direct us on which projects to pursue, and they determine the themes at our national conference.”

Here’s a complete list of 2017 CSG committee chairs and vice chairs.

Public Policy Committees

Education & Workforce Development Public Policy Committee (two-year term)
Kentucky state Sen. Jimmy Higdon, co-chair
New Jersey Assemblyman Troy Singleton, co-chair
Secretary Ronald L. Walker II, Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development, vice chair

Energy & Environmental Public Policy Committee (two-year term)
Ohio state Rep. Al Landis, co-chair
Nevada state Sen. Pat Spearman, co-chair
Chairman Brad Johnson, Montana Public Service Commission, vice chair 

Fiscal & Economic Development Public Policy Committee (two-year term)
Arizona Senate President Pro Tempore Debbie Lesko, co-chair
Indiana state Sen. Karen Tallian, co-chair
Chief Operating Officer Ted Townsend, Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development, vice chair

Health Public Policy Committee (two-year term)
Kansas state Rep. Susan Concannon, co-chair
Massachusetts state Rep. Denise Garlick, co-chair
Director Michael Barbieri, Delaware Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health, vice chair

Transportation & Infrastructure Public Policy Committee (two-year term)
Maine state Rep. Andrew McLean, co-chair
Texas state Rep. Larry Phillips, co-chair
Director Rudy Malfabon, Nevada Department of Transportation, vice chair

Standing Committees

Finance Committee (two-year term)
Idaho state Rep. Maxine Bell, co-chair
Kansas state Sen. Vicki Schmidt, co-chair 

Interbranch Affairs Committee (two-year term)
Tennessee state Rep. Raumesh Akbari, legislative co-chair
Kentucky Chief Justice John D. Minton, judicial co-chair
Deputy Chief of Staff Mike Mower, Utah Office of the Governor, executive co-chair

Intergovernmental Affairs Committee (two-year term)
Connecticut Deputy Speaker Bob Godfrey, co-chair
Tennessee state Sen. Doug Overbey, co-chair

International Committee (two-year term)
Nevada state Sen. Moises Denis, co-chair
Alaska state Sen. Gary Stevens, co-chair
Senior Vice President Manny Mencia, International Trade & Development, Enterprise Florida, vice chair

National Conference Committee (one-year term)
Nevada state Sen. Kelvin Atkinson, chair
Kentucky Senate President Robert Stivers, vice chair

Shared State Legislation Committee (two-year term)
Delaware state Rep. Helene Keeley, co-chair
North Dakota state Rep. Kim Koppelman, co-chair
Jerry Bassett, Alabama Legislative Reference Service, vice chair

Associates Advisory Committee (one-year term)
Kentucky Senate President Robert Stivers, chair
Minnesota state Sen. Julie Rosen, vice chair

Special Committees 

21st Century Foundation (one-year term)
Kentucky Senate President Robert Stivers, chair
Delaware state Rep. Helene Keeley, vice chair

Legal Task Force (two-year term)
Idaho Senate Majority Leader Bart Davis, chair

About the Council of State Governments
The Council of State Governments is the nation’s only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. This offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships.

About the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development
The Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development’s mission is to develop strategies that help make Tennessee the No. 1 location in the Southeast for high quality jobs. To grow and strengthen Team Tennessee, the department seeks to attract new corporate investment in Tennessee and works with Tennessee companies to facilitate expansion and economic growth. Tennessee is the only three-time winner of “State of the Year” for economic development by Business Facilities magazine. Find us on the web: Follow us on Twitter: @TNECD. Like us on Facebook:



filter background